“Self-portrait of a Girl who Actually Put on Monday Makeup” (2018) 

self portrait

______________________________________________________

Okay, a rant:

In high school, a boy told me that I had man hands. In middle school, a girl made fun of me for having collar bones that were “too big.” Kids always teased me for being so pale.

Well, guess what. I love my hands that enable me to play the piano and knit. They’re big and chubby, and I love them for being long so I can reach a greater range on the keyboard.

I love that I have distinct features, such as my albino-ish white skin and fat collar bones. It makes me unique.

I’m the heaviest I’ve ever been in my life. After my gallbladder surgery, my weight has been up and down and all over the place.

And you know what . . . that’s okay. I don’t need permission to live. YOU don’t need permission to live.

Today I’m happy with who I am and how I look. I want to be better. I want to improve. But it’s okay to love being in your own skin and being comfortable with yourself.

So let’s kick some Monday Blues Butt!!

Follow me on Instagram!

Leave a comment