Tuesday Tunes: Amanda Palmer’s cover of Radiohead’s “Creep”

Singer: Amanda Palmer

Song: “Creep”

So, yes, she is sitting in her underwear. And, yes, there is language. Come to terms with who she is, and, seriously, listen to that voice.

It is absolutely powerful. And the feels of the song seem different when a woman sings rather than a man.

Something special happens here. The interaction between Neil and Amanda is so sweet; it almost feels like the viewer is invading on an intimate moment. Such a fascinating, incredibly creative couple. I love how she sings, “I’m a creep. You’re a weirdo. But I don’t really care.” This is different from the original lyrics. It makes this interaction between viewer and listener, future couple and then husband and wife, more unique, don’t you think?

(Side note: the two married in 2011 and are expecting a baby in September!)

amanda_palmer_pregnant

(image from here)

This is a cover, originally done by the band Radiohead. The video is from all the way back in 2008. And 4 in the morning, apparently. Dang, wish I sounded this good that early. Read below (description from Youtube):

Uploaded on Aug 18, 2008
8 08, Its 4 :am at the Cloud Club, we caught end of Amanda singing the Radiohead song “Creep” for Neil between takes of the WKAP video series, then Neil shows Amanda a YouTub piece on his laptop

Enjoy, listeners and readers alike.

xoxo,

the bbb blogger



lyrics:

When you were here before,
I couldn’t look you in the eye.
You’re just like an angel,
your skin makes me cry.
You float like a feather
in a beautiful world,
you’re so very special…
I wish I was special.

But I’m a creep, I’m a weirdo.
What the hell am I doing here?
I don’t belong here.

I don’t care if it hurts
I want to have control.
I want a perfect body,
I want a perfect soul.
I want you to notice
when I’m not around.
You’re so f* special
I wish I was special.

But I’m a creep, I’m a weirdo.
What the hell am I doing here?
I don’t belong here.

She’s running out the door.
She’s running!
She run, run, run, run, run.

Whatever makes you happy,
whatever you want.
You’re so f* special
I wish I was special.

But I’m a creep, I’m a weirdo.
What the hell am I doing here?
I don’t belong here.
I don’t belong here!

5 thoughts on “Tuesday Tunes: Amanda Palmer’s cover of Radiohead’s “Creep”

Leave a Reply

