10 Summer Reading Books You Should Add to Your List

BOOKS
Who doesn’t love curling up with a good book to read after a long, hot day? Maybe some of my loves will inspire your summer reading! Here are some of books that came to the top of my head (listed in no particular order of preference).

1. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
I read this my sophomore year of high school and fell in love. SOOOOOO much better than the movie (my apologies to all those hard-core, movie fans).

2. The Great Brain series by John Dennis FitzgeraldRealistic family relationships. Set in Utah. Funny & clever. I also cried sometimes. Read this for nostalgia of childhood summertimes.

 

3. P&PEmmaPersuasion by Jane Austen

I’m not a Jane-ite. But Emma, I think I have decided (at least for right now, at this very moment), is my favorite.

 

4. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

I read this classic my freshman year of high school. I remember being a little creeped out but also endearingly intrigued by all the mystical stuff going on. Also, angsty teenage me connected with Jane.

 

5. The Harry Potter Series by the one and only J.K.

In two words?
My childhood. 🙂 I remember being so excited during the summer for the next book to come out. *sigh*

 

6. Second Class Citizen by Buchi Emecheta

When I was living in London, I read this book. Beautifully written and beautiful main character. Must. Read. I *cannot* stress this enough.

 

7. The Little House series by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Yet again, another childhood classic.

 

8. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

I also read Little Women my sophomore year of high school.
Or, at least, I finished the unabridged version. I remember reading a shortened version when I was in elementary school. When I was in fourth grade, I was Jo for Halloween. I’d like to pretend that I still am.

 

9. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

A-MAZ-ING.
If you would like to read my review, go to https://thebippityboppitybeautifulblog.wordpress.com/2014/06/25/code-name-verity/

 

10. Agatha Christie novels

I am, by no means, a prolific reader of Agatha. But it’s been fun reading some murder mysteries this summer. I really enjoyed the ABC Murders. How could you not love Poirot (whose name I think I can *finally* pronounce correctly)?
Currently, I am reading Murder at the Vicarage, and it’s so hilarious, sometimes I literally LOL. 🙂


Well, that’s all folks. I hope you enjoyed looking at some of my favorite books! 🙂

Have a beautiful day!!!   ❤

xoxo,

the bbb blogger

10 thoughts on “10 Summer Reading Books You Should Add to Your List

  1. I loooove your choices! Haven’t read all of them, but Jane Eyre, Jane Austen, and of course HP are all old favourites 🙂 I think Persuasion is my favourite Austen. I find Anne’s self-pitying aspects a bit annoying at times, but oh my days Captain Wentworth is amazing. I think it’s the most romantic Jane Austen jobbie. Have you read One Day? That’s also amazing, so clever and funny and heartwarming and heartbreaking all at once.

    • It’s true—sometimes Anne is a little self-pitying, but can you blame her? Her family wasn’t exactly the nicest people in the world. But Captain Wentworth and Colonel Brandon (Sense & Sensibility) are probably my two favorite Austen men.

      I have to say that I haven’t read One Day. Wasn’t that made into a move with Ann Hathaway? Very cool! Thanks for the suggestion, effiewright11! 🙂

      Hope you have a beautiful day!!! ❤

      xoxo,

      the bbb blogger

      • I’m re-reading S&S at the moment 🙂 I love the 1996 film of that one, with Emma Thompson and Kate Winslet. They really animate the girls in such a brilliant way.
        You’re right, Anne’s family are awful (although Mary is hilarious in her selfishness). I guess I prefer a Jane Eyre-ish defiance to Anne’s occasionally “woe is me” perspective haha. Have you seen the adaptation of Persuasion with Sally Hawkins? It’s not as good as adaptations of others, but Rupert Penry Jones plays Wentworth and it’s beautiful!
        Yes One Day was made into the Anne Hathaway movie 🙂 Read the book before you see the movie – the film is a good film, but I like it in its own right, rather than as an adaptation of the book…if that makes sense? The book is really special – I studied literature at university and it’s still one of my favourites!
        Hope you have a beautiful day too! xx

Leave a Reply

