The Merchant of Venice (Act I, Scene i)

I started reading the Merchant of Venice by Shakespeare and finally decided that I could capture some of my feelings better in my own drawings. Here goes nothin’!

antonio, opening

The play opens with this great line with Antonio. Poor guy. Sounds like he’s been having it rough lately. Probably any reader who has come across this opening has related with the pitiable character, Antonio. Being down in the dumps is no fun at all.

I,i, part 1

Then Antonio’s friends, Salarino and Solanio, talk with him. But their advice doesn’t seem to be all that helpful. They seem to be pretty interchangeable characters.

I,i, a

I,i, part 2

Then more of Antonio’s “friends” show up—Bassanio and Gratiano.

I,i, enter grtiano and bassino

 

 

I,i, enter grtiano and bassino ii

After the first two guys peace out, Gratiano gives a really long lecture to Antonio about how he needs to take life less seriously.

I,i, gratiano solo lecture

After Gratiano heads off for dinner and says he’ll FINISH his lecture later, Bassanio starts complaining to Antonio (poor guy . . . seriously, he can’t get a break).

I,i, Briassiano solo lecture

 

Bassanio wants Antonio to bail him out AGAIN! He has a problem with money. Clearly.

 

I,i, Briassiano solo lecture


Summary of what I’ve noticed so far:

Yay

Antonio’s opening line. Classic.

Nay

Lame friends. Antonio, get better friends. Sounds like these guys you keep hanging out with are total drips. Maybe that’s the real reason you are feeling so moapy.

Gray

I’m really curious about this lady named Portia, but I don’t know if Bassanio really deserves this woman if she is as great as Bassanio makes her out to be. I really don’t know if Bassanio will get the girl in the end. Also, I don’t know if this play  is supposed to be a comedy or a tragedy.

Also, I don’t know how I feel about the characters so far.

Antonio: Main Character?

Salarino: Poser Friend #1

Salanio: Poser Friend #2

Gratiano: Fool / Likes to Give Lectures Guy / Poser Friend #3

Bassanio: Debtor / Trying to Get Some {$$$ & lady loving from someone called Portia} / Poser friend #4

 

15 thoughts on “The Merchant of Venice (Act I, Scene i)

  1. OMG…..roflmao…..I attended the Shakespeare festival for over 10 years and I must say this has been very entertaining…..well done….i am going to be giggling for the rest of the evening

  2. …as a shakespearean lover & scholar – the Riverside is always by my armchair’s side – allow to genuflect before you!…how did i get so lucky today that i find your beautiful blog!!!…you have a new & devoted follower! ^^~~~~~

Leave a Reply

