This is a fabulous video, highlighting how the media portrays women.
One of the most powerful things the speaker says is that over time, she believes that how women are portrayed in the media has gotten worse, not better.
A must-see presentation.

Question: What are you thoughts after watching this presentation? Do you agree with the speaker that the media portrayals have gotten worse? Do you think this really impacts society?

Please comment!!! 🙂

“Killing Us Softly”: The Media and Its Portrayal of Women

28 thoughts on ““Killing Us Softly”: The Media and Its Portrayal of Women

    • Thanks, Skyler! I haven’t actually watched Breaking Bad. But your writing looks very interesting. Thank you so much for posting it!!! 😀 😀 😀 I think it is so vital to spread the word about media and female characters and how they are represented.

      ❤ Thank you for the beautiful comment. Have a lovely day.

  1. Interesting. Absolutely! Sex ads are everywhere and most of the time the ads are focused on women as “objects of pleasure.” I know of parents that paint their little girls(ages 5-7) faces up for cheer squads/competitions. They are sending a toxic message to viewers (perverts) as well as the little girls.

    I wrote a post on my blog about “It’s Okay To Go Gray” because, I have chosen to scorn hair color and let my hair grow “au naturel” to a beautiful, silvery crown-of-glory (It’s in the process). The fact that the media tells society (and us women) that we just grow old and unattractive if we don’t color our gray hair is insulting and degrading to women. Funny how men just grow distinguished and sexy with gray hair or a bald head.

    • Joanne, thanks for this considerate post! 🙂 It really is a powerful video. I hope you are do not feel inadequate, though! You are a powerful, strong woman. You can do it—be stronger than the media! Don’t let it get you down! 😀 😀 😀 You are important. And you are also beautiful. 🙂

      ❤ Thank you for the beautiful comment. Have a lovely day.

  2. Very powerful message! I read recently just a couple minutes of looking at magazines decreases a woman’s self esteem- it’s impossible not compare and contrast and its frustrating that we are comparing ourselves not to other real women but to computer generated ideals.

    • Thanks, Kristen, for your thoughts. I would believe that magazines decrease the self-esteem of women because it focuses on the artificial, external appearances. We belong in the society of the “selfie.” Please don’t get too caught up in comparing and contrasting yourself, Kristen! It can be frustrating, but you are more than merely a computer generated construction. I hope you remember that! You are you—you are a breathing, beautiful human being who is loved and cared about.

      ❤ Thank you for the beautiful comment. Have a lovely day.

    • Love this line from your post: “But then movies like Frozen and Fargo come along to show us that we are progressing as a society and that women in movies can be so much more than simple eye-candy.”

      Thank you, directorsteiner, for sharing this with me. I hope you have an incredible day!!! 😀 😀 😀

  3. I believe women and men both are objectified. Just pick up a magazine at any checkout and I guarantee you’ll see women’s breasts and men’s abs/washboard stomachs, stripped down to their underwear or less because these ads feed an unhealthy need to attain a kind of perfection that does not, nor ever will, exist. It’s disgusting, but it’s true. What I think we as a society need to focus on is celebrating — embracing — the beauty in all of us as we truly ARE, not as we are airbrushed, or whatever it is they do to get the so-called “perfect” look, and to just plain VALUE ourselves physically, mentally and emotionally. Just my humble two cents, for what they’re worth.

    • I completely agree. Men and women are BOTH objectified. So true. So sad. And it is disgusting. This “perfection” isn’t really perfect—something that is false can never be perfect, right? We, as a society, really ought to focus and celebrate beauty of all sorts. Your thoughts are worth a great deal (definitely worth more than 2 cents). 🙂

      ❤ Thank you so much for this thoughtful comment, rolltigejen. It's nice to know I'm not the only one who feels this way!!! 😀 😀 😀

      Have a lovely day!!! 🙂

  4. I try SO hard to teach my young sons respect for girls/women, and to not objectify them. They listen…or so I hope….but those images are EVERYWHERE. In the grocery store, in ad posters, and the magazines at the checkout, along the roadside with billboards of scantily clad women, in the street, in the mall(lingerie stores are the WORST!) everywhere online, and on TV…..it is like fighting an uphill battle when they are bombarded at every turn with images of how ideal women “should” look, or how women “should” be. But I keep at it, never the less, because to not fight it, is giving into it…it is to convey to them that it is somehow ok. And it is so wrong. I want sons who value women for their contributions, for their opinions, for their intelligence, etc., and to have them not judge them on how they look. To see the beauty inside…and not just of women, but of people in general. And I mean to do my very best to achieve that goal.

  5. This is really interesting. I watched the trailer here as that link didn’t work for me: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PTlmho_RovY

    Two things. Firstly, I think it’s important to address there is also a war on men’s bodies. It might not be as obvious, or as chronic, but it’s there and I think men suffer too.

    Second, I find my pervading insecurities come not so much from the images I see, but the knowledge that men have seen them and this is what they expect and value. My beloved boyman showed me a photo the other day of a model he fancies with an inhuman body and if I saw it alone I would have shrugged it off, but knowing that was what he has come to expect thanks to Lad’s Mags made me die a little inside, feeling as if I could never possible be that attractive/his ideal. I’m sure he fancies the pants off me and thinks I’m wonderful. But my insecurity is always second hand and my lack of self-acceptance is always social.

    I wonder if you or anyone else can empathise…

Leave a Reply

